Celsius-Linnaeus Lectures

Each year the Faculty of Science and Technology arranges the Celsius-Linnaeus honorary lectures in memory of Anders Celsius (1701-1744) astronomer and physicist, and Carl von Linné (1707-1778), physician and botanist, who were professors at Uppsala University. The selected Celsius- and Linnaeus-lecturers are at today's forefront within their field.

Since 1991, eleven of the Celsius-Linnaeus lectures have been awarded a Nobel Prize.

Svante Pääbo, who was Linnaeus-lecturer in 2022, has received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine the same year. 

The 2023 Celsius-Lecturer is Johan Rockström, Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Professor at the Institute of Earth and Environmental Science at Potsdam University, and Professor in Water Systems and Global Sustainability at Stockholm University.

The 2023 Linnaeus-Lecturer is John RogersLouis Simpson and Kimberly Querrey Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Biomedical Engineering and Medicine at Northwestern University and Director of the Querry-Simpson Institute for Bioelectronics.

The lectures takes place at Eva von Bahr, Ångström Laboratory. All lectures are open for everyone to attend, no registration needed.

See the full program herehttps://www.teknat.uu.se/celsius-linnaeus/